The Essential Stephen King

Standard
The Essential Stephen King

A ranking of the greatest novels, short stories, movies, and other creations of the world’s most popular writer

By Stephen K.Spignesi

When I was studying in my secondary school days, I barely read Stephen King’s books as I thought it was quite scary. The bookcovers often look scary too and I always have this impression of Stephen King being a horror writer.

After reading through this book, I find that is a very good guide to Stephen King’s books, ideas. If you have not read his books, I think it will be a good guide and starting point as to where to start reading. Only after reading this book, I realised that Stephen King has a very wild imagination to think of so many interesting plots for his stories. He writes the supernatural, horror, the wild, the imaginative, science friction etc. And a lot of his stories characters are linked to one another from one book to another.

Top 10 Stephen King’s Books

1. It (1986)
2. The Stand (1978,1990)
3. The Shining (1977)
4. The Dead Zone  (1979)
5. The Green Mile (1996)
6. Bag of Bones ( 1998)
7. Misery (1987)
8. Salem’s Lot (1975)
9. Pet Semetary (1983)
10. The Dark Tower Epic

Personally, I feel that after reading the synopsis, I prefer the Dead Zone, Mrs Todd’s shortcut. The author always say be imaginative, think of “what if” happens.

“When ideas come, they don’t arrive with trumpets. They are quiet – there is no drama involved. I can remember crossing the road, and thinking that the cat had been killed in the road… and [ I thought], what if a kid died in that road? And we had this experience with Owen running towards the road, where I had just grabbed him and pulled him back. And the two things just came together – on one side of this two-lane highway was the idea of what if the cat came back, and on the other side of the highway was what if the kid came back – so that when I reached the other side. I had been galvanized by the idea, but not in any melodramatic way. I knew immediately that it was a novel.

– From an interview with Douglas E.Winter from Stephen King : The Art of Darkness

Leave a Reply

