Crisis

Standard
Crisis

By Robin Cook (Published in 2006)

I am quite disappointed to read this book. The initial starting seems to set it up as a very exciting plot. Dr Craig Bowman was accused of medical malpractice. However, in the end it was revealed that he tried to kill his patient by having poison in her medication.

After reading the book, I still do not understand why the doctor wants to kill the patient. First of all, he is earning big money through concierge medical practice. That patient is paying big money for his services. After so many years of hard work, why would the doctor want this patient to die? The patient may be annoying but then if she continues to live, even in a very sickly manner, she will continue to require his services. Therefore, she will continue to pay him. Why would the doctor want to kill his golden goose?

I feel that the story is not reasonable. What is the motive?  For the sake of having a twist in the story, the author even gives the conclusion that the doctor just kill his patient with no mention of motives. This reminds me of the last book “Postern of Fate” written by Agatha Christie. That was also a most terrible book. “Crisis” is written slightly better than “Postern of Fate” but it is also entirely off.

The previous book I read was “Contagion” by Robin Cook. I will rate it as average, it was published in 1995.  This book “Crisis” was published in 2006 and I think it is terrible to read. Perhaps it will be better to read the author’s earlier works which may be better. I noticed that for many authors, those books written in their much later years are not as good as their initial ones.

Related External Links

  • The Fed's Crisis Lending: A Billion Here, a Thousand There
  • Fed reveals which banks borrowed during crisis | Chicago Breaking
  • Dr. Brenner's Thoughts on Healthcare: New Developments
  • The Rising Risk of a Terrorist Attack – Could It Happen Today
  • [WATCH]: 1 of 8 The Grand Design World Government 1968
  • In other news… electoral reform, bribery, sexy IT and paperwork
  • Advertisements

2 responses »

  1. I heard a couple of guys talking about this in the New York subway so I looked it up online and found your page. Thanks. I thought I was right and you confirmed my thoughts. Thanks for the work you’ve put into this. I’d love to save this and share with my friends.

Leave a Reply

