Anne of Green Gables

Standard
Anne of Green Gables

By L.M. Montgomery

I fell sick and was having a bad flu these few days. I can’t really do my work, so the only thing is to read. Surprisingly, I will choose a children’s book “Anne of Green Gables” to read. This is not an ordinary book, it is one of the bestselling novel  by L.M. Montgomery published in 1908.

Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert, brother and sister who live together at Green Gables, a farm in the village decided to adopt Anne Shirley an orphan after a mistake. Ann Shirley is so spirited, cheerful and lively in the story that I feel so cheered up even by reading the story.

I like the part in which she gives a name to the lake that she passes by with Matthew.

Below them was a pond, looking almost like a river so long and winding was it. A bridge spanned it midway, and from there to its lower end, where an amber-hued belt of sand-hills shut it in from the dark blue gulf beyond, the water was a glory of many shifting hues – the most spiritual shadings of crocus and rose and ethereal green, with other elusive tintings for which no name has ever been found.

Above the bridge the pond ran up into fringing groves of fir and maple and lay all darkly translucent in their wavering shadows. Here and there a wild plum leaned out from the bank like a white-clad girl tiptoeing to her own reflection. From the marsh at the head of the pond came the clear, mourningfully sweet chorus of the frogs. There was a little grey house peering around a white apple orchard on a slope beyond, and although it was not yet quite dark, a light was shining from one of its windows.

‘That’s Barry’s pond.” said Matthew.

“Oh, I don’t like that name, either. I shall call it- let me see – the Lake of Shining Waters. Yes, that is the right name for it. I know because of the thrill. When I hit on a name that suits exactly it gives me a thrill. Do things ever give you a thrill?”

From the above, it can be seen how descriptive the author can be in describing the pond and the little house that Anne is going to live. I guess it must be the author’s way of writing about the spirited Anne and the surroundings that it is very comfortable and easy to read this book. However as time is tight, I will probably not read any of its sequence.

Leave a Reply

