The power of giving

Standard
The power of giving

How Giving Back Enriches Us All
Creating abundance at home, at work, and in the community

By Azim Jamal and Harvey McKinnon

I really like this book a lot because I believe in this idea of giving. Hence, I have extracted some parts of the book which I will like to remember.

Giving can reduces your fear. That’s because giving promotes social connections, which provide you with greater security. The best way to confront your fears is to begin the process of making a difference.

The root causes of “dangers” are often the result of social problems that have been ignored. But you can make a commitment to do what you can to eliminate the conditions that cause the potential crises.

Giving reduces self-centeredness. It can make you feel more connected to others and this connection will reduce fear and isolation. A priest was sharing a story about newborn twins, one of whom was ill. The twins were in separate incubators as per hospital rules. A nurse on the floor repeatedly suggested that the twins be kept together in one incubator. The doctors finally agreed to try this. When the twins were brought into contact with each other, the healthy twin immediately put his arms around his sick brother.

This instinctive exchange gradually helped the sick twin to recover and regain his health. The babies’ family and the doctors witnessed the intangible force of love and the incredible power of giving.

Forgiving people for past mistakes and hurts is also a way to express love, and forgiveness is a wonderful thing to give. Like you, other people are only imperfect humans. Keeping hurt and anger in your life is often an excuse to avoid getting close to people for fear they will hurt you again. People want to know that they are special in your life and that you care about them.

Someone who has hurt you is also hurting; maybe with your kindness this hurt will go away. Sometimes you are hurt and the last thing you want to do is give especially to someone who has hurt you. But maybe that person is hurting too. People often hurt others because they themselves are hurting. Their pain does not justify their actions, of course, but it does help you understand why they do what they do.

When you give to people living on the edge of survival, you know that the help you give creates hope. We believe that if there is any hope for the world to grow less unkind and even less brutal, this hope comes from the actions of people like you. Charity may begin at home, but the world is your home and all citizens are your neighbours. We urge you, therefore, to consider giving to people in the poorest part of the world. Imagine what just one of your dollars is worth when exchanged for currency in the developing world – it is the daily salary for more than one billion people.

Tracy Gary and Melissa Kohner, authors of Inspired Philanthropy wrote :” Giving of your time and money is more than simply doing good. It is a conscious, international act to weave oneself into a caring culture.” As you give time and money to do good, you strengthen the social fabric of your community, which extends to the four corners of the world. Every act is a strand in weaving a cloth of strength, comfort, care and love.

38 responses »

  1. Great piece of data that you’ve received on this web site submit. Hope I might get some additional of the stuff on your own website. I will occur again.

  2. Great piece of data that you’ve received on this web site submit. Hope I might get some additional of the stuff on your own website. I will occur again.

  3. Spot on with this write-up, I actually suppose this web site wants far more consideration. I’ll probably be again to learn much more, thanks for that info.

  4. Aw, this was a very nice post. In idea I wish to put in writing like this additionally ? taking time and actual effort to make an excellent article? however what can I say? I procrastinate alot and under no circumstances seem to get one thing done.

  5. Aw, this was a very nice post. In idea I wish to put in writing like this additionally ? taking time and actual effort to make an excellent article? however what can I say? I procrastinate alot and under no circumstances seem to get one thing done.

  6. Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  7. Hi! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the excellent work!

  8. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  9. This is my first time that i visit right here. I found a lot of interesting thing in your website especially it’s discussion. From your numerous feedback on your articles, I suppose I am not the only one having the many enjoyment here! keep up your great work.

  10. I recently stumbled on this post and have been browsing along. I figured I will post my very first comment given it genuinely captured my attention. I am going to drop back here regularly to look for fresh content and articles.

  11. Post very nicely written, and it contains useful facts. I am happy to find your distinguished way of writing the post. Now you make it easy for me to understand and implement. Thanks for sharing with us.

  12. I’m impressed, I must say. Actually rarely do I encounter a weblog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me inform you, you might have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not sufficient individuals are talking intelligently about. I am very blissful that I stumbled throughout this in my seek for something referring to this.

  13. Quite very good publish. I just stumbled upon your weblog and desired to say that I have really enjoyed studying your weblog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing for your feed and I hope you submit again quickly!

  14. I was looking for the content here and there and got to visit your blog. I must say that I am in the hand of luck today otherwise getting such a wonderful writing to read wouldn’t have been possible for me, at least. Really appreciate your content.

  15. Nice to be visiting your blog again, it has been months for me. Well this article that i’ve been waited for so long. I need this article to complete my assignment in the college, and it has same topic with your article. Thanks, great share.

  16. You could definitely see your skills in the work you write. The world hopes for more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart.

  17. I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I’m quite sure I
    will learn many new stuff right here! Best of luck for the
    next!

Leave a Reply

